Mini Courses

Stratagem Trading offers 4-hour courses on specific topics and/or trading strategies from time to time. These courses are designed to address and prepare for anticipated market events (such as the Crash Ready course), or to present in-demand strategies, which maybe of interest to a wider public audience. Topics range from basic to advanced.

​Mini-course​: PAIR Trading!

A ​P​air T​rade is a trading strategy that involves matching a long position with a short position in two stocks, index or commodity with a high correlation.

Saturday, November 20, 2021:

9:00am – 1:00pm PST/ CST11:00 – 3:00pm CST/ 12:00 – 4:00pm EST
(15 minute break to switch slides and eat in the middle)

Sunday, November 21, 2021:

9:00am – 1:00pm PST/ CST11:00 – 3:00pm CST/ 12:00 – 4:00pm EST
(15 minute break to switch slides and eat in the middle)

BONUS: 1 hour example on Monday, November 22, during market hours

Lock-in your early bird rate for a $200 deposit.

Registration effective November 1: $799.00
Registration effective November 15: $899.00 

INCLUDED

Two (2) days of instruction
All slides (never seen before material)
A short step-by-step write up as a refresher and check list
Access to class recording for ​one (1) year

Course Outline

Day One
November 20, 2021

Understanding the PAIR – An Overview
Purpose of Pairs
Identifying What May be a Pair
Equity Pair trades
Index Pair Trades
Measuring the Correlation and
Standard Deviation of a Pair

Day Two
November 21, 2021

Finding the Edge of an Index Pair trade:
Distance advantage
Strike Advantage
Vertical Spread Size Advantage
Unit amount advantage

Opening a Pair Trade
Managing and Closing a Pair trade
Fixing a Broken Pair

BONUS DAY:

If there is a great ​PAIR trade, ​Scott will place it with the group prior to the start of the session so ​there is an example to work with. If this is not done, ​there will have a special 1-hour FREE BONUS session the following Monday, November 22th to do a special pair trade for the class.

​Frequently Asked Questions: download answers here.

1.  Why a Pair Trading class?
2.  What is a Pair Trade?
3.  What is an example of a Pair Trade?
4.  Is it complicated?
5. When do you do a Pair Trade?